

## **REGIONAL OCEAN POLICY AND GOVERNANCE DIALOGUE**

# 21 – 24 AUGUST 2023, NADI, FIJI

## PROVISIONAL LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

#### **IN-PERSON ATTENDANCE**

	<b>Countries/Organization</b>	Name	Designation
1			Pacific Ocean
	OPOC	Dr Filimon Manoni	Commissioner
2	United Nations	Ambassador Peter	UNSG's Special Envoy for
		Thomson	the Ocean
3			Minister, Ministry of
			Agriculture, Fisheries and
	Palau	Minister Steven Victor	the Environment.
4			Head of Maritime and
			Ocean Affairs, Department
	Vanuatu	Mr Toney Tevi	of Foreign Affairs
5			Desk Officer, Maritime and
			Ocean Affairs Division,
			Department of Foreign
	Vanuatu	Mr Steve William Hango	Affairs
6	Republic of the Marshall		Director, Marshall Islands
	Islands (RMI)	Mr Glen Joseph	Marine Resources Authority
7			Assistant Secretary-Bureau
			of Regional Affairs,
			Ministry of Foreign Affairs
	RMI	Ms Teri K. Elbon	and Trade.
8			Ambassador Extraordinary
			and Plenipotentiary, RMI
	RMI	His Excellency Junior Aini	Embassy to Suva, Fiji.
9			First Secretary, RMI
	RMI	Mr Terry Keju	Embassy to Suva, Fiji
10			Director of GeoScience
	Kiribati	Ms Kabure Yeeting	Division, MFMRD
11			Senior Fisheries Officer,
			Ministry of
	<b>TTT T</b>		Fisheries&Marine
	Kiribati	Ms Riria Moaniba	Resources Development
12	Nauru	Mr Tilson Ephraim	Director of Legal Affairs
13	Nauru	Ms Jasmina Jones	Policy and Legal Manager
14	Papua New Guinea		Acting Director, Office of
	(PNG)	Ms Grace Kaue	Ocean Affairs

1.5			A suistant C sustant
15			Assistant Secretary,
	DNG		Department of National
1.0	PNG	Mr Langa Kopio	Planning and Monitoring
16			Foreign Service Officer,
			Department of Foreign
	PNG	Ms Emma Pongopia	Affairs
17	Tonga	Dr Siola'a Malimali	Deputy CEO for Fisheries
18			Senior Conservation
			Officer, MEIDECCC,
	Tonga	Mr Penikoni Aleamotu'a	Department of Environment
19			Acting Director
			Multilateral, Ministry of
	Fiji	Mrs Keleni Seruvatu	Foreign Affairs
20			Ocean Specialist, Climate
			Change Division, Office of
	Fiji	Mr Izhaar Ali	the Prime Minister
21			Applied Scientist/Marine
			Spatial Planning
			Coordinator, Ministry of
			Agriculture, Fisheries and
	Palau	Ms Adelle Lukes Isechal	the Environment.
22			Assistant Director
		Mr Dominic Ransan-	Pacific Climate
		Cooper	Negotiations and Oceans
	Australia		Section
23			Senior Policy and
	Australia	Ms Bridgette Cottrill	Development Officer
24			Seabed Minerals
			Commissioner, Seabed
	Cook Islands	Ms Alex Herman	Minerals Authority
25			Senior Foreign Service
			Officer, Treaties
			Multilateral and Oceans
			Division, Ministry of
			Foreign Affairs and
	Cook Islands	Ms Teuru Passfield	Immigration
26			Senior Advisor Pacific
			Ocean and Fisheries, New
			Zealand Ministry of
	New Zealand	Mr Jonathan Paul Peacey	Foreign Affairs and Trade
27			Assistant Chief Executive
			Officer- Environment and
			Conservations Division,
			Ministry of Natural
	Samoa	Mr Afele Faiilagi	Resources and Environment
28			Principal Foreign Service
_			Officer- International
	Samoa	Mr Tau Jurgen Kappus	Relations Division,
L	1		

			Ministry of Foreign Affairs
			and Trade
29			Official Representative of
2,	New Caledonia	Mr Gaston Wadrawane	New Caledonia to Fiji
30			Assistant Secretary, Ocean
			and Climate Change Desk-
			Ministry of Foreign Affairs
	Solomon Islands	Ms Gladys Kamia Isihanua	and External Trade
31			Senior Conservation
			Officer- Ministry of
			Environment, Climate
			Change, Disaster
			Management and
	Solomon Islands	Mr Fredrick Dotho	Meteorology
32			Acting Deputy Director-
			Offshore Fisheries-
		Mr Samson Houaitahona	Ministry of Fisheries and
	Solomon Islands	Maeniuta	Marine Resources
33			Chief Policy Officer-
			Ministry of Fisheries and
24	Solomon Islands	Mr Alan Aba	Marine Resources
34			Senior Technical Adviser,
	F 1 D 1	Mr Jean-Marc Karel	Ministry of Agriculture &
25	French Polynesia	Teriihauroa Luciani	Fisheries
35	Nia Tero++Thriving Peoples + Thriving		Solomon Islands
	Places++	Ms Lysa Wini	Programming Manager
36	Waitt Institutes Blue		Blue Prosperity Fiji – Site
50	Prosperity Fiji	Mr Arthur Sokimi	Manager
37	University of Fiji	Ms Priyatma Singh	Lecturer
38	Fiji National University	Ms Lia Bogitini	Lecturer
39	East-West Center-		
	Pacific Islands		Joint Doctoral Research
	Development Program	Mr Rufino Varea	Fellow
40	Pacific Islands Forum		
	Secretariat (PIFS)	Mr Michael Crowe	Regional Security Adviser
41			Ocean Climate Policy
	Asian Development		Specialist, Blue Pacific
	Bank (ADB)	Ms Celina Elvira Garcia	Finance Hub, ADB.
42	World Wildlife Fund		
	(WWF)	Dr Mark Walter Drew	Director, WWF Pacific
43	World Wildlife Fund		
	(WWF)	Mr Francis Areki	WWF
44	Kami Pasifiki Solutions	Mr Taholo Kami	Ocean Advisor
45	Secretariat of the Pacific		Multilateral Environmental
	Regional Environment	Ms Anastacia Amoa-	Agreements (MEAs)
	Programme (SPREP)	Stowers	Coordinator

46	Australian National		
_	Centre for Ocean		
	Resources & Security		
	(ANCORS)	Ms Genevieve Quirk	PhD Candidate
47	ANCORS	Ms Dominique Benzaken	PhD Candidate
48	Tufuga Law Firm &		
	Consultancy	Mr Fagaloa Tufuga	Principal
49	Pacific International		
	Maritime Law		
	Association, Apia,		
	Samoa	Mr Johan Fred Amoa	President
50	The European Union		
	Delegation to the Pacific	Ms Kim Edou	Ocean Programme Manager
51	Great Barrier Reef		Executive Director Projects
	Foundation	Ms Theresa Fyffe	& Partnerships,
52	Great Barrier Reef		Director of Pacific
	Foundation	Ms Nicola Thomson	Partnerships
53	Pacific Fusion Centre	Ms Anna Naupa	Associate Director
54	Pacific Islands		
	Development Program		
	(PIDP)	Dr James Perez Viernes	Deputy Director
55	The Pacific Community		Deputy Director, Ocean and
	(SPC)	Mr Jens Kruger	Maritime, GEM
56			Team Leader, Ocean
			Prediction and Monitoring,
	SPC	Mr Herve Damlamian	GEM
57			Team Leader, Maritime
	SPC	Mr Omirete Tabureka	Affairs, GEM
58		Mr Yolisaguyau	Maritime Policy and Legal
	SPC	Tom'tavala	Adviser, GEM
59			Integrated Ocean
	SPC	Mr Hans Wendt	Management Adviser, GEM
60			Ocean Advocacy and
			Strategic Engagement
	SPC	Ms Janice Mose	Adviser, GEM
61			Coordinator: Partnerships
	SPC	Dr Katy Soapi	and Engagement, PCCOS
62	International Union for		Membership Officer,
	Conservation of Nature		Oceania Regional Office
	(IUCN)	Mr Semisi Seruitanoa	(ORO)
63	IUCN	TBC	
64	IUCN	TBC	
65			Senior Director,
			Pacific Ocean and Island
	Conservation	Ms Susana Waqainabete-	Program,
	International (CI)	Tuisese	Asia Pacific Field Division
66	Pacific Network on		
	Globalisation (PANG)	Mr Joey Tau	Ocean Campaigner
67	PANG	Mr Jason Titifanue	Research Intern

68	Footprints in the Sand Consulting	Ms Seema Deo	Consultant
69	PIFS	Ms Lavinia Tomtavala	Research Officer
70	PIFS	Mr Jonacani Drobula	IT Support
71	OPOC	Mr Peni B. Suveinakama	OPOC Manager
72	OPOC	Ms Tekau Frere	OPOC Adviser
73	OPOC	Ms Mereseini Marau	Ocean Communications Officer
74	OPOC	Ms Mere Koroivosa	OPOC Admin & Data Management Assistant

#### VIRTUAL ATTENDANCE

	Organization	Name	Designation
1	Climalysis	Dr Jeremy Hills	Consultant
2	University of		
	Wollongong	Mr Lucky Wuwung	PhD Candidate
3	University of		
	Wollongong	Prof Quentin Hanich	Researcher
4	UNDOALOS	Ms Alice Hicuburundi	Principal Legal Officer
5	UN CBD	Mr Joseph Appiott	Marine Coordinator
6			Principal Coordinator
	UNEP	Ms Leticia Carvalho,	Marine Branch
7			Senior Project Officer,
	CARICOM Secretariat	Mr. Kareem Sabir	Sustainable Development
8	Western Indian Ocean		
	Region Regional Ocean		
	Governance Strategy	Ms. Yvonne Waweru,	Senior Governance Advisor
9	Commonwealth		Legal Adviser, Ocean
	Secretariat	Mr. Kenroy Simmons	Governance and Maritime
			Boundaries
10	University of the South		Lecturer in Ocean Policy
	Pacific	Dr Jack Dyer	and Governance
11	Alliance of Small Island		
	States	Ms Anama Solofa	Marine Policy Analyst
12	WCPFC (TBC)		
13	ASEAN Secretariat		
	(TBC)		